Dismiss Notice
Wynncraft, the Minecraft MMORPG. Play it now on your Minecraft client at (IP): play.wynncraft.com. No mods required! Click here for more info...

Got confused about damage calculation

Discussion in 'Questions' started by Bottled_Phantom, Oct 26, 2022.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bottled_Phantom

Bottled_Phantom Well-Known Adventurer CHAMPION

Minecraft:
    1. Attack abilities say their damage is "[Number]% of DPS".
    But spell damage don't have a "DPS", so what it mean?
    The average of main attack DPS? Then what's the use of spell damage ID?

2. The "soft cap" of Rage (Earth powder special) is +300% Earth damage.
    My damage is almost all earth damage and all my armors have Rage V, so I think when I'm at very low health it should increase my DPS about 3 times of that when 100%HP. But it didn't, and the DPS data from WynnBuilder (Rage set to 300%) only increased 0.4 times (also the case in game). Why?

Thanks a lot!!! I'm still learning about the combat system :D

Last edited: Oct 26, 2022
  2. Earthbrine

Earthbrine The Dirt of the Realm CHAMPION

Guild:
    Minecraft:
    I don't know about #2, but for #1, spell damage calculations use main attack dps(along with other things like raw spell damage, % spell damage, and % elemental damage)

Bottled_Phantom likes this.
  3. Bottled_Phantom

Minecraft:
    Thanks! That does solve my first question

4. MrX2007

MrX2007 Well-Known Adventurer VIP+

Minecraft:
    I think the earth dmg bonus of rage gets added to your normal earth damage which means it increases the damage less (percentage wise) if you already have high earth damage identifications on your items but it still adds 300% earth damage to your stats

5. Bottled_Phantom

Minecraft:
    Oh sorry but I found I'm still confused
    For example, Uppercut says its total damage is 280% of my DPS (200% neutral, 40% earth, 40% thunder)